Rehab Rules in 2026: What Ten Real Handbooks Actually Say
Last updated
Most rules people worry about concentrate on four things: phones, visitors, leaving, and what you may bring. We stopped guessing at them and read the actual documents: ten patient and client handbooks from real programs, read in full in October 2026. The pattern they show is phase-based rules, not blanket bans. Phones are restricted at nine of the ten, but almost never the same way twice: a safe, a phase system, an approved call list, ten-minute windows. The famous 30-day blackout is documented at exactly one program of the ten. And voluntary treatment stays voluntary: you can leave, and the conversation staff ask for first is worth having.
The short version
- Phones are restricted at 9 of 10 programs we read — but almost never the same way twice: a safe, phases, an approved-number list, 10-minute windows. Only the outpatient clinic allowed free use
- The 30-day blackout is documented at 1 of 10 — the month of silence is real but rare; most programs use shorter phase systems instead
- Rules are earned through, not just imposed — phase systems trade completed weeks for privileges: phone time, passes, visitors
- Voluntary means voluntary — you can leave at any time; staff will ask for a discharge conversation first, and that conversation solves more than it scolds
- Ask for the handbook before admission — a program that publishes or sends its rules in advance has told you something good about itself
Step by step
Get the actual rulebook
Ask the program for its patient handbook before admission, or find it on their site. Ten of the programs we found publish theirs openly, which is itself a signal. A refusal to show the rules in advance is an answer too.
Map your three non-negotiables
The contact you cannot pause (children, an employer, a lawyer, a court), the medication you cannot interrupt, and the obligation that would follow you in, such as probation terms. Every handbook has an exception process; the useful question is how yours fits it.
Ask the four questions below
Phone policy in the first two weeks, what happens after a lapse, visitor rules for your specific people, and what gets reported to anyone outside. Write the answers down. Programs that answer clearly in writing run clearly in person.
Read the phase map, not the front page
The brochure describes the program; the handbook’s phase table describes your first month. The difference between the two is where most surprises live. And if the phone policy is the deciding constraint, the dedicated guide is [rehab that allows cell phones](/guides/rehab-that-allows-cell-phones).





Ten real rulebooks, counted
Our analysisInstead of describing an average facility, we read the actual documents: ten patient handbooks from operating programs, tabulated rule by rule. This is what the rules literature looks like when you count it.
- 9 of 10
- handbooks restrict personal phones
- safe custody, phases, approved lists or unit bans; only the outpatient clinic allows free use
- 1 of 10
- documents a 30-day blackout
- the famous month of silence is CRI-Help’s policy, not an industry standard
- 4 of 10
- are fully tobacco-free
- including vapes; the rest run designated areas or say nothing
- 2
- visitors per visit is the commonest cap
- at three of the five programs that state a number; one allows five
- 3 of 10
- inspect incoming mail
- one opens everything without censoring it; legal mail only in your presence
- 2 of 10
- ban resident relationships outright
- in writing, as dischargeable conduct; the rest imply it through conduct rules
How we got this: Ten programs with publicly posted rulebooks, read in full on 15 October 2026: nine PDFs downloaded and extracted, one (Poplar Springs) read from its published excerpt behind a bot block. Rules tabulated across seven dimensions; the table is reproduced above with the programs named.
What these numbers cannot tell you: This is a count of programs that publish their rules, which is itself a selection: small private centers without posted handbooks are absent. Policies change; the handbook for your program, requested in writing, is the only version that governs your stay.
What the rulebooks actually say
Every listicle about rehab rules describes the same imaginary average facility. We went to the primary documents instead: the patient and client handbooks that real programs hand to real arrivals, ten of them, read cover to cover on 15 October 2026. They range from a 50-year-old nonprofit residential program in California to an opioid treatment clinic in Georgia to hospital psychiatric units, and they disagree with the average in instructive ways. The full table is below; the rest of this page walks through what it means.
| Program | Setting | Phone rule | Visitors | Tobacco |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CRI-Help (CA) | residential SUD | none for 30+ days, then 2×10 min daily by phase | after blackout, approved form, up to 5 | not stated |
| KAR House / Akeela (AK) | residential SUD | safe custody; personal phone from phase four | weekend windows, approved, weekly request | fully tobacco-free |
| LifeSpring (IN) | residential psych/SUD | not stated in the handbook | two visitors, 18+, approved, weekly | tobacco-free |
| Oasis (AZ) | psych + addiction hospital | no cell phones on the unit | approved list plus patient code, max 2 adults, ID and screening | not stated |
| Pine Rest (MI) | psychiatric hospital | restricted item, supervised use only | your named list, two at a time, under-14 by approval | tobacco-free indoors and out |
| Private Clinic North (GA) | opioid treatment program | no phones inside the clinic (42 CFR privacy) | dose-and-leave model | not stated |
| Stonybrook (NJ) | stabilization center | no personal phones; 15-number approved list, calls not monitored | visitation per unit schedule | not stated |
| Thrive (NY) | outpatient clinic | allowed; silenced in sessions, calls outside | outpatient model | tobacco-, vape- and cannabis-free |
| Poplar Springs (VA) | psychiatric hospital | not on unit; 10-minute calls to listed numbers | patient ID code plus written consent | not stated |
| Northwest Louisiana HSD (LA) | behavioral health clinic | no phone use in the group room | not stated | no tobacco |
CRI-Help (CA)
- Setting
- residential SUD
- Phone rule
- none for 30+ days, then 2×10 min daily by phase
- Visitors
- after blackout, approved form, up to 5
- Tobacco
- not stated
KAR House / Akeela (AK)
- Setting
- residential SUD
- Phone rule
- safe custody; personal phone from phase four
- Visitors
- weekend windows, approved, weekly request
- Tobacco
- fully tobacco-free
LifeSpring (IN)
- Setting
- residential psych/SUD
- Phone rule
- not stated in the handbook
- Visitors
- two visitors, 18+, approved, weekly
- Tobacco
- tobacco-free
Oasis (AZ)
- Setting
- psych + addiction hospital
- Phone rule
- no cell phones on the unit
- Visitors
- approved list plus patient code, max 2 adults, ID and screening
- Tobacco
- not stated
Pine Rest (MI)
- Setting
- psychiatric hospital
- Phone rule
- restricted item, supervised use only
- Visitors
- your named list, two at a time, under-14 by approval
- Tobacco
- tobacco-free indoors and out
Private Clinic North (GA)
- Setting
- opioid treatment program
- Phone rule
- no phones inside the clinic (42 CFR privacy)
- Visitors
- dose-and-leave model
- Tobacco
- not stated
Stonybrook (NJ)
- Setting
- stabilization center
- Phone rule
- no personal phones; 15-number approved list, calls not monitored
- Visitors
- visitation per unit schedule
- Tobacco
- not stated
Thrive (NY)
- Setting
- outpatient clinic
- Phone rule
- allowed; silenced in sessions, calls outside
- Visitors
- outpatient model
- Tobacco
- tobacco-, vape- and cannabis-free
Poplar Springs (VA)
- Setting
- psychiatric hospital
- Phone rule
- not on unit; 10-minute calls to listed numbers
- Visitors
- patient ID code plus written consent
- Tobacco
- not stated
Northwest Louisiana HSD (LA)
- Setting
- behavioral health clinic
- Phone rule
- no phone use in the group room
- Visitors
- not stated
- Tobacco
- no tobacco
Who is in the count
Ten programs, chosen by a simple rule: an addiction or behavioral health program with its rules published where anyone can read them. Residential addiction treatment (CRI-Help in California, KAR House in Alaska, LifeSpring in Indiana), hospital psychiatric and dual-diagnosis units (Oasis in Arizona, Pine Rest in Michigan, Poplar Springs in Virginia), a stabilization center (Stonybrook in New Jersey), an opioid treatment program dosing daily (Private Clinic North in Georgia), a state behavioral clinic (Northwest Louisiana), and one outpatient program for contrast (Thrive in New York). Community corrections facilities surfaced in the same search and were excluded: a halfway house rulebook is a different document answering to a court, not to a clinical team.
The one pattern that holds
Rules get lifted by progress, not by calendar. Program after program runs phases: orientation with the fewest privileges, then phone time, then passes, then leadership. KAR House returns your personal phone at phase four. CRI-Help adds personal calls at phase two, thirty days in at the earliest. The restriction you read about online is usually the orientation phase, and the handbook is where you find what it becomes.
Where the internet average misleads
The widely repeated claim that rehab means a month without your phone describes one program in our ten. CRI-Help documents a blackout of at least 30 days: no personal calls, no visits. The other nine do something milder and more various: phones in a safe, phones at scheduled windows, phones never on the unit but calls on a house line. The average article presents the strictest version as the standard one.
Phones and devices: nine out of ten restrict them
This is the rule people search for most, and the one the handbooks are most specific about. Of our ten programs, nine restrict personal phones. Only the outpatient clinic allows free use, and even there phones are silenced in sessions and calls move outside. The residential and hospital programs split into four distinct systems, and which one a program runs matters more to your daily life than its star rating.
The safe system
KAR House in Ketchikan stores phones, wallets and any cash over $20 in the program safe. Residents sign phones out during telephone time, and only from phase four onward. The phone is yours; the custody is theirs. Pine Rest, a psychiatric hospital in Michigan, classifies the phone as a restricted item: held by staff, available on a limited basis under supervision.
The phase system
CRI-Help in Los Angeles County is the strictest documented case: no personal phone calls at all for at least the first 30 days, then two 10-minute personal calls a day at phase two, then a phone permitted on passes at phase three. Phone calls are approved by the technicians on duty. Necessary calls to family, employers or attorneys route through the case worker from day one, which is the detail that makes the strict version livable.
The approved-list system
Stonybrook in New Jersey never lets you keep the phone but never leaves you cut off either: you submit up to fifteen friends and family numbers, attorney numbers are pre-approved for everyone, and calls are explicitly not monitored or recorded. Poplar Springs in Virginia runs the same logic with a patient ID code: no code, no acknowledgment you are even there. Hospital units like Oasis in Arizona simply do not allow cell phones on the unit at all.
The clinic exception
Outpatient programs invert everything. Thrive in New York lets you bring and use your phone, asking only that calls happen outside the building and never on speakerphone. The opioid treatment program in Georgia bans phones inside the clinic for a different reason than any residential rule: 42 CFR confidentiality, because a photo there captures other patients’ treatment. Same device, opposite logic.
The blackout question
The idea that rehab starts with a month of silence is the single most repeated claim in this search space, and it has one documented home in our ten. The honest summary is: initial restriction is nearly universal, a long blackout is not.
What is actually documented
CRI-Help states it plainly: for at least the first 30 days, no personal phone calls and no visits, with necessary calls routed through the case worker and letter writing unrestricted. Their reasoning is printed too: the first month is for finding your footing. Nobody else in our ten sets a number close to that. KAR House’s orientation phase restricts privileges without naming a fixed duration; the hospitals restrict the device rather than the contact, routing calls through unit phones.
Why programs restrict the first days at all
The stated logic is consistent across handbooks even where the strictness is not: early treatment is the period of highest relapse risk, and the phone is the fastest route back to the people and places attached to use. Pine Rest’s version is privacy-flavored: the restriction protects other patients from being photographed or discussed as much as it protects you. Both reasons argue for limits at the start, not for a month of silence.
What to ask instead of assuming
Not “do you take phones” but “what does contact look like in week one, and who do I call in an emergency”. Every handbook we read has an answer to the second half: a case worker, a unit phone, a patient code for family. The programs that publish this answer in advance are the ones that have thought about it.
Visitors: lists, limits and the ID code
Visitation in the handbooks is a managed process, not an open door and not a locked one. The recurring mechanics: an approved list made at admission, a cap on visitors per visit, a schedule tied to the week, and identification at the door. Family therapy is usually scheduled separately from social visits, and the programs treat it as the more valuable of the two.
The approved list and the cap
LifeSpring in Indiana allows a maximum of two visitors, 18 or older, approved by the treatment team, at a weekly visit. Oasis requires the approved contact list plus photo ID plus a sign-in log, and wands visitors with a metal detector. CRI-Help allows up to five visitors per visit, each on the visitor request form, with store-bought food welcome. Pine Rest limits visits to the people you named at admission, two at a time, in designated areas only.
Children and the exceptions
Children are the most negotiated category. Pine Rest bars visitors under 14 unless the treatment team approves. CRI-Help lets parents with young children videoconference more often and outside regular hours. KAR House runs visitation on weekend windows with requests submitted a week ahead. If your children are the reason you are hesitating, this is the paragraph of the handbook to read first, because the range is from “no” to “we arranged video calls” depending entirely on the program.
The confidentiality layer underneath
Two programs spell out what visitors rarely consider: your presence is itself confidential. Poplar Springs staff will not confirm a patient is there without the patient’s ID code and written consent. Pine Rest will not acknowledge you to callers at all without a release. When a program seems to be stonewalling a family, it is usually running this rule, not hiding anything.
Smoking, caffeine and the small comforts
The smaller bans are where handbooks diverge most, and where online claims are most confident. Four of our ten programs are explicitly tobacco-free, including vapes: KAR House, LifeSpring, Pine Rest and Thrive all prohibit tobacco on the property, with KAR House tapering nicotine through med-call and patches. Others allow designated smoking areas. There is no majority rule here; there is only the program’s own policy.
The tobacco-free half
The programs that ban nicotine entirely tend to say why: it is a substance use disorder treatment setting, and nicotine is the most-used substance on site. KAR House residents taper with patches dispensed at med-call. Thrive assesses nicotine dependence at intake and offers treatment for it. The trend in the documents is toward tobacco-free; the older handbooks still show designated areas.
The caffeine and chocolate myth
A real cluster of searches asks whether caffeine, chocolate or sugar are banned in rehab. In ten handbooks we found no caffeine ban at all; the restrictions that exist are about glass containers, energy drinks skewing urine tests at KAR House, and outside food at visits for safety reasons. CRI-Help’s pass rules even budget cash for coffee. The myth likely survives because the bans that do exist, on alcohol-based products and on unlabeled supplements, get retold as bans on everything.
Mail, packages and searches
Three of the ten handbooks document mail inspection, and the detail is worth reading twice because it is more careful than expected. Stonybrook opens all incoming mail to check for contraband but states it is not censored, and privileged mail, from attorneys, courts or elected officials, is opened only in your presence. Pine Rest asks you to open suspect mail in front of staff rather than opening it for you. KAR House inspects all letters. Packages everywhere are debriefed with staff present.
What counts as contraband
The lists are longer than anyone expects: not just substances and weapons but glass containers, aerosols, clothing depicting drugs or alcohol, and at one program anything promoting violence in music. The practical rule is KAR House’s debrief: anything arriving gets opened with staff, logged, and either admitted or sent home. Ordering online deliveries to a program without asking first is the reliable way to lose the package.
Belongings get searched at admission
Every residential handbook includes the admission search: bags checked, clothes laundered, medications logged to the pharmacy. LifeSpring describes washing and drying all incoming clothes before return. This is universal practice, not suspicion of you personally, and the handbooks say so in those words.
Relationships between residents
Explicitly prohibited where the handbooks mention it, and the wording is uniform enough to quote: no sexual contact, no romantic relationships between clients, no exceptions by phase. Northwest Louisiana’s version adds gestures; LifeSpring lists it among dischargeable conduct. The clinical reason is stated plainly in the documents: new relationships in early recovery divert attention from treatment and destabilize the group. It remains one of the most common discharge grounds, alongside substances on site and violence.
Leaving: voluntary means voluntary
Every handbook for voluntary treatment says it somewhere: you may leave. What the handbooks add is the choreography. Staff will ask for a conversation first, will document the departure as against medical advice when it is, and will often ask you to wait for a safe handoff rather than walking to the road. CRI-Help’s phase system makes leaving formally easy and practically considered: the conversation exists because most premature departures are about a fixable problem on a hard day.
What against medical advice actually means
AMA is a chart note, not a punishment. It records that you left before the clinical recommendation, which matters to insurers reviewing the stay and to courts if attendance was ordered. In purely voluntary treatment it follows you nowhere except back into the same program’s readmission conversation. The programs are clear about this because the fear of it keeps people stuck, and the clarity is meant to unstick them.
When leaving is not yours to choose
The exception set is narrow and real: court-ordered treatment, where leaving is a breach reported to the court, and involuntary commitment under state law, which is a legal status rather than a program rule. Everything else, including pressure from family, an employer or a spouse, leaves the choice with you.
Rules that come from outside the program
Not every rule in your stay is written by the facility. Three outside systems can run alongside the house rules, and where they conflict, the outside one usually wins. This is the section to read if anyone besides you has a say in your being there.
Courts and probation
Where treatment is a condition of probation or a diversion agreement, attendance is reported and leaving early is a violation rather than a discharge. The single most useful question at admission is what gets reported, to whom, and how often, in writing. Programs that take criminal justice referrals answer this fluently; ones that do not may have to find out.
Your employer and FMLA
Federal law lets eligible employees take job-protected leave for substance use treatment: the regulation, 29 CFR 825.119, covers treatment by a health care provider and pointedly does not cover absences for the use itself. Eligibility has three gates: twelve months with the employer, 1,250 hours in the past year, and a worksite with 50 employees within 75 miles. The employer receives a certification of a serious health condition, not your diagnosis and not the facility’s name. Treatment records sit behind 42 CFR Part 2, which is stricter than HIPAA and was tightened further by a 2024 final rule.
Licensing boards
Pilots, physicians, nurses and lawyers answer to monitoring programs with their own facility requirements, and a completed stay at a program the board does not recognize can fail to count. If a license is in your picture, the board’s program picks the facility shortlist before your preferences do. The measured outcomes of those programs are their own page on this site.
What we read, and how
On 15 October 2026 we found, downloaded and read ten patient and client handbooks from operating US programs: CRI-Help (CA), KAR House/Akeela (AK), LifeSpring (IN), Northwest Louisiana HSD (LA), Oasis (AZ), Pine Rest (MI), Private Clinic North (GA), Stonybrook (NJ), Thrive (NY), and Poplar Springs (VA). Nine were read from the full PDF; Poplar Springs’ handbook sits behind a bot block and was read from its published excerpt, which we note rather than hide. Two correctional facilities surfaced in the same search and were excluded as a different document class. Every count on this page comes from that table.
What to ask before admission
Handbooks differ enough that the only reliable move is asking the program itself. Four questions, all answerable in one phone call, cover what people are most surprised by later.
What is the phone policy in the first two weeks?
The restriction people react to hardest. The useful answer names the system: safe, phase table, approved list, or unit phones, plus the exception process for a child, an employer or a lawyer. Every handbook we read has that process; a program that cannot describe it has not thought about it.
What happens after a lapse on site?
Some programs treat a single use clinically and adjust the plan; others discharge. Both positions exist in the documents, and the answer tells you more about the program’s philosophy than any brochure line. What a day inside actually contains is mapped on what happens in rehab.
Who can visit me, and from when?
Ask about your actual people: your children’s ages, your partner, your parents. The approved-list mechanics and the under-18 rules vary more than any other line in the handbooks.
What gets reported to anyone outside?
For most patients, nothing: 42 CFR Part 2 keeps treatment records behind a stricter wall than ordinary medical privacy. For anyone arriving through a court, an employer agreement or a licensing board, there is a reporting channel, and its exact width is worth a written answer.




Where this sits in the system of care
Addiction treatment is organised into levels of care, and clinicians choose between them using the ASAM criteria (six dimensions covering withdrawal risk, medical and psychiatric conditions, readiness, relapse risk and, decisively, the environment you return to. Facilities are licensed by the state and many hold additional accreditation from bodies such as the Joint Commission or CARF; that status is worth confirming for any specific programme. Percentages below are our count of how many facilities in the federal directory report offering each level of care.
- Detox19.5% of facilitiesmedical withdrawal management, 3–7 daysDetox vs rehab
- Residential21.4% of facilitieslive on site, 24-hour staffingInpatient vs outpatient
- PHP20–30 structured hours a week, sleep at homePHP vs IOP
- IOP9–19 hours a week, usually compatible with workPHP vs IOP
- Standard outpatient85.4% of facilities1–8 hours a week, the maintenance levelMutual aid options
“Remaining in treatment for an adequate period of time is critical.”
Programmes for specific groups
Facilities also report dedicated programming, and the coverage is wider than most people expect, worth asking about before assuming a programme will not fit. From our count: 42.7% run programmes for adolescents, 39.2% for veterans, 38% for pregnant and postpartum women, and 25% provide services in Spanish. Medication for opioid use disorder is available at 59.2% (buprenorphine) and 13.7% (methadone).
Cost and coverage vary by level: residential care is the tier insurers scrutinise most and almost always requires prior authorisation before admission. See what your plan covers and how to pay without insurance. Family involvement is a standard part of most programmes, and aftercare planning ( step-down to a lower level, sober living, relapse prevention) should be discussed before admission, not at discharge. If a mental health condition is also present, ask specifically whether the programme is staffed for co-occurring disorders: 69.5% of facilities in the directory report treating them, but that is a self-reported field worth confirming.













Common questions
Can you have your phone in rehab?
Usually not freely, and almost never in the first phase. Nine of the ten handbooks we read restrict personal phones: stored in a safe, returned at set phone times, limited to an approved call list, or banned from the unit with calls on a house line. The exception that proves the pattern is outpatient care, where one program allows phones with courtesy rules. The question that gets you a useful answer is which system the program runs, not whether phones are allowed.
Are phones really taken away?
Yes, at most residential programs, and no, not in the sense people fear. Custody is the common model: the phone is logged, stored, and returned at scheduled windows or phases. The part worth verifying before admission is the exception process for a lawyer, an employer or a child, which every handbook we read includes.
What is a blackout period in rehab?
An initial period with no personal calls or visits. It is real but rare as a long block: one of our ten programs, CRI-Help, documents at least 30 days. Most programs restrict the device instead of the contact, routing necessary calls through staff from day one.
Can you have visitors in rehab?
Yes, on a managed basis. Expect an approved visitor list made at admission, a cap of two visitors per visit at the stricter programs, set visiting windows often on weekends, and photo ID at the door. Children are the most variable category: barred under 14 at one program, welcomed by video at another. Family therapy is usually scheduled apart from social visits.
Can you smoke in rehab?
It splits. Four of our ten handbooks are fully tobacco-free including vapes; others keep designated smoking areas where cigarettes are permitted at set times. There is no industry standard, and the trend in newer documents is tobacco-free with nicotine replacement at med-call. Ask directly if it matters to you.
Can you leave rehab whenever you want?
In voluntary treatment, yes. Staff will ask for a conversation first and will record an early departure as against medical advice, which is a chart note rather than a punishment. The two real exceptions are court-ordered treatment, where leaving is a reported breach, and involuntary commitment under state law.
Do they read your mail?
Incoming mail and packages are commonly inspected for contraband, and the careful programs say how: Stonybrook opens all incoming mail without censoring it, and opens privileged legal mail only in your presence. Outgoing personal correspondence is rarely restricted.
Can you bring your own medication?
Yes, declared at admission and dispensed by staff from the pharmacy, in the original labelled packaging. The one to confirm in advance is medication for opioid use disorder: most programs continue it, some do not, and the door is a bad place to learn which you are entering.
Sources
- CRI-Help Family Orientation Handbook (Los Angeles, CA)
- KAR House Residential Treatment Program Handbook, Akeela (Ketchikan, AK)
- LifeSpring Residential Treatment Center Client Handbook (IN)
- Pine Rest Patient Handbook (MI)
- Stonybrook Stabilization and Treatment Center Client Handbook (NJ)
- SAMHSA: Treatment for Substance Use Disorders
- eCFR: 29 CFR §825.119, FMLA leave for treatment of substance abuse
- US Department of Labor: FMLA frequently asked questions
- eCFR: 42 CFR Part 2, confidentiality of substance use disorder records
Compare levels of care
Check what your plan covers
How this page was made
- Who wrote it:
- the Westbrook Recovery editorial team : researchers and writers, not clinicians. No doctor has reviewed this page, and we do not claim otherwise. What that means in practice: we report what public clinical sources say and show you where to read them, rather than offering a clinical opinion of our own.
- Checked against:
- 9 primary sources listed above: federal agency material and published clinical criteria. Where a figure varies by state, plan or facility, we say so instead of publishing a number that looks authoritative and is not.
- Original analysis:
- the facility proportions on this page are our own count of SAMHSA’s public directory. The full method is documented , including what we count, what we deliberately do not publish, and an error the approach caught. You can repeat the pull and check the numbers.
- Last reviewed:
- . This date changes when the content is actually re-checked, not automatically on every visit.
- What this page is not:
- a medical recommendation, a diagnosis, or a referral. Decisions about levels of care and medication belong with a clinician who knows your history. We do not operate facilities, take placement fees, or receive payment for sending anyone anywhere.
Related on this site
- Rehab that allows cell phonesthe other half of the phone question: finding a program whose policy fits your life
- What happens in rehabthe day-to-day content inside the rules: therapy, schedule, the arc of a stay
- Sober living rulesthe house-rule version, for the step after treatment
- How to get someone into rehabif you are the family reading the rules for someone else
More guides
- Free Rehab for VeteransVeterans get free addiction treatment three ways: VA care, Vet Centers without enrollment, COMPACT Act crisis care. How each door works.
- Average Cost of RehabWe read the top-ranking pages and their quoted 30-day prices disagree by 11x. Real cost drivers by level of care, and how to get your actual number.
- Addiction Treatment for Pregnant WomenTreatment in pregnancy is safer than untreated addiction: recommended medications, supervised detox, integrated prenatal care, priority rules.
- Rehab for Women With ChildrenRehab when you have children: programs where kids stay, childcare during treatment, custody, and funded routes for mothers.
- Does Medicaid Cover Drug Rehab?Yes, in every state, but the details differ by state. What Medicaid covers at each level, the IMD wrinkle, and our per-state counts.
- Rehab That Allows Cell PhonesWhich rehabs allow cell phones: the spectrum from lockbox to open access, who allows what, and how to verify a policy in writing first.
- Alcohol Rehab for SeniorsAlcohol treatment for older adults: slower, safer detox, medication and fall risks, what Medicare covers, and finding a program that fits.
- Long-Term Drug RehabLong-term rehab is 90 days to a year: therapeutic communities, extended care, ministry programs. Who needs it, what it costs, the research, vetting.
- How to Stage an InterventionHow to stage an intervention that ends in treatment: the team, the letters, rehearsal, the bed arranged first, and what to do if the answer is no.
- Drug Rehab for CouplesCan couples go to rehab together? The two models, the approach with real trial evidence, costs for two, and how to vet a program.
- Executive Drug RehabExecutive and luxury rehab: what the premium buys, what insurance covers, privacy under 42 CFR Part 2, and how to verify clinical quality behind amenities.
- Does Insurance Cover Detox?Yes, almost always: detox is the most defensible level of care to insurers. Prior auth, Medicaid and Medicare rules, and what our audit of 5 insurers found.
- Free Drug RehabFree addiction treatment exists: state-funded programs, Medicaid, sliding scales and charity. What free covers and how to find real care near you.
- Christian Drug RehabChristian drug rehab: licensed programs with a faith track versus ministries, what treatment includes, costs, and how to verify a program before enrolling.
- How Long Is Rehab?Detox takes 3 to 7 days, residential rehab 30 to 90 days, outpatient care 8 to 12 weeks. What decides your stay, measured against 10,233 facilities.
- How to Get Someone Into Rehab When the First Answer Is NoMost adults with addiction do not think they need treatment. Plan for the no: ready the bed first, pick the hour, make one concrete offer.
- How to Pay for Rehab Without Insurance: Which Door Your Income OpensNo insurance does not mean no treatment. The 2026 income lines in dollars: Medicaid, the subsidy cliff, state-funded care, sliding scales.
- Suboxone Withdrawal Timeline in 2026: What the Studies MeasuredHow long Suboxone withdrawal lasts, why it starts late, and what the taper trials measured: the timeline from evidence, not folklore.
- 7-OH Withdrawal Timeline: What the Record Shows, Not the ForumsWhat 7-hydroxymitragynine withdrawal looks like, what the 200 PubMed papers actually measure, and where the federal ban stood on 14 October 2026.
- Meth Withdrawal Timeline: The Shape, the Source, and What the Top Pages Get WrongWorst inside the first day, better across the week, a long low tail. We checked the top pages against the one study behind their numbers.
- Cocaine Withdrawal Timeline: The Crash, the Weeks After, and What HelpsWhat cocaine withdrawal feels like hour by hour and week by week, why no approved medicine exists after 166 trials, and the treatment 149 trials support.
- Opioid Withdrawal Timeline: The Clock, the Peak, and How It Is Actually MeasuredOnset about 12 hours after short-acting opioids, 30 after methadone; worst days two to three. Plus the scale clinicians use, read from the source.
- Relapse Warning Signs in 2026: The Signs and the Measured Map Behind ThemThe measured map behind relapse warning signs: what precedes relapse across three substances, from the 1985 table and its 2026 replication.
- Rehab for Professionals: The Monitored Path, MeasuredLicensed professionals are treated inside monitored programs with the field's best documented outcomes. Who runs them, with the FAA numbers.
- What Happens in Rehab: The Day, the Week, the MonthAdmission day is paperwork, not therapy. Most of the rest is group work. An honest account of the schedule, the therapies by name and the emotional arc.
- Court-Ordered Rehab: How It Works, What It Costs, Whether It WorksWhat court-ordered rehab actually means, how drug courts work phase by phase, what 337 studies and 4,000 courts show, and what happens if you fail.
- Sober Living Rules in 2026: The House Rules, and the Network Behind ThemThe house rules people actually live under, plus our own count of the largest network: every Oxford House in the live directory, by state, beds and openings.
- How Long Suboxone Stays in Your System: The Two Clocks, MeasuredBuprenorphine half-life 24-42 hours; urine finds it about a week after daily use, hair for months. What the label and 488 studies say.
Weighing levels of care? See PHP vs IOP and what your insurance covers.
This page is information, not medical or legal advice. Laws on commitment and treatment differ by state. If you are in crisis, call or text 988 in the US, or reach the SAMHSA National Helpline at 1-800-662-4357 — free, confidential, 24/7.